Privacy settings

Information about Conservation Areas in the Winchester District

We have already designated thirty-seven conservation areas in the district and additions to this number will be considered periodically. They vary from the urban centre of Winchester to small, downland villages such as Ovington, or from New Alresford, with its market place surrounded by listed buildings, to Bishops Waltham, which includes ponds and the ruins of a bishop's palace.

Each of these areas is unique with its own 'sense of place', providing a variety of open spaces, buildings, trees, and water features which give the area its special character. Policies which seek the protection and enhancement of these conservation areas are included within the Winchester District Local Plan, adopted in 2013. These policies follow the Government's advice contained within National Planning Policy Framework (NPPF) and seek to ensure that new development is in accord with the special character of the conservation area concerned. When considering new development in conservation areas, the Council will therefore expect applicants to submit detailed plans and elevations, and they may also be asked to provide additional information to show the likely impact of their proposals on the surrounding area.

Link to LocalView, which is an online map, to search for an address and check whether it is within a conservation area:
Conservation Area Boundaries in Winchester and the District

Winchester City Council logo

Cookies Policy

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.

Some of these cookies are necessary to make the site work. We’d also like to use optional cookies to help improve your experience on the site. You can manage your optional cookie preferences below. Using this tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences. Your preferences can be changed at any time.

Review your privacy settings