Winners announced at Winchester District Sports Awards 2011

The Winchester District Sport and Physical Activity Alliance (SPAA) held the fourth annual sports awards at Winchester Guildhall on Thursday 1 December.

The 17 different award categories aim to recognise publicly the commitment and excellence of coaches, volunteers, and sports men and women across the Winchester District and celebrate their successes over the past year.

The awards were hosted by television sport presenter, producer and director Andy Steggall, along with the Deputy Mayor of Winchester, Cllr Frank Pearson. Guest speakers included local sporting talents Hugo Tibbitts who currently plays ice hockey for Great Britain and World Champion sailor Annabel Vose, who both receive specialist funding from the Hampshire Talented Athlete Scheme. Other speakers included GB marathon runner Louise Damen with presentations and interviews from Dynamo National School of Gymnastics and Guy Butters Winchester City FC manager.

This year the awards included a Mayors Reception for local Health Walk Volunteer Leaders and Winchester’s 2012 Clubs. The evening saw over 350 people in attendance at the junior awards, Mayors reception and senior awards ceremonies with a talented pool of Olympic hopefuls and a host of exceptional volunteers, coaches and sports personalities attending the evening. Judging and deciding winners was always a difficult matter, however, once announced winners were delighted with the final results and all those involved walked away feeling full of admiration and personal success.

Cllr Patricia Stallard, portfolio holder for Culture, Heritage and Sport at Winchester City Council, said,

It was a joyous and uplifting occasion which I was delighted to be part of.  The evening is a magnificent way for us to showcase all that is great in terms of sport across the Winchester District. The young speakers we had this year were inspirational and their stories will leave some positive messages with our other youngsters present and the coaches and volunteers who selflessly give up so much of their time. I would like to thank and congratulate everyone involved in staging the event.”

Stuart Barlow, Chair of the Winchester District SPAA, added,

Each year we see the Sports Awards grow and this year was no different, where for the first time we were able to split the evening into three different ceremonies. Nominations continue to increase each year which makes picking a winner a tough job but as the night showed the achievements of all of our nominees are something special and they are all worthy of praise! The awards conclude another incredible year for the SPAA partners who have been working extremely hard to deliver important initiatives and will continue to drive sporting opportunities when the greatest show on earth arrives on our doorstep next year. Well done to all involved."

Individual awards were sponsored by local partners and organisations who have helped to financially support the event and ensure a that a first class evening could be delivered. Nominations for the Sport Hampshire & IOW county awards are now open whereby all Winchester winners will be put forward to hopefully receive even more awards!

This year's winners were:

Junior Sportsman – Locryn Geake – Various                                                     
Sponsored by the University of Winchester

Junior Sportswoman – Tressa Armitage – Table Tennis                           
Sponsored by Sparsholt College

Junior Disability Sportsperson – James Clowes – Boccia

Junior Male Volunteer – Dan Wiltshire – Basketball

Junior Female Volunteer – Jade Traynor – Netball

Junior School Team of the Year – Peter Symonds 1stXI Men’s Hockey        
Sponsored by 4SportsUK

Junior Team – St Cross Symondians U13 Cricket Team

    The winners of the Junior Sports Awards 2011 

Senior Sportsman – Neil Locock - Tennis

Senior Sportswoman – Louise Damen – Athletics                               
Sponsored by Evolution Health & Fitness, Perins

Senior Disability Sportsperson – Jenny Greasley - Various

Senior Male Volunteer – Marc Lyne – Athletics

Senior Female Volunteer – Caroline Allen-Rogers – Netball                        
Sponsored by Fieldfare Leader

Official – Deborah Beard - Basketball

Coach of the Year – Richard Atkinson – Squash                                    
Sponsored by DC Leisure

Senior Team – University of Winchester Men’s Football 1st XI - Football

Club of the Year – Whiteley Wanderers FC – Football                                
Sponsored by Sport Hampshire & IOW

Service to Sport – Michael Bryant – Table Tennis                                           
Sponsored by Winchester City Council

     The Winners of the Senior Sports Awards 2011

For further information about the event, how you could sponsor an award or nominate someone for next years celebrations please contact Chris Peach, Sports Development Officer on 01962 848 532 or email