Privacy settings

History and Heritage

Explore Winchester's heritage and history with the below list of heritage sites, attractions and museums. 

878AD (https://878ad.co.uk/your-visit/)
Discover an immersive experience in two parts: an interactive attraction with stunning video projection and live performance, and an augmented reality adventure in Winchester

Abbey House / Nunnaminster (https://www.winchester.gov.uk/community-recreation/open-spaces/abbey-gardens-and-abbey-house)
Abbey House, of Georgian style, was built in 1751. The house and gardens stand on the site of part of King Alfred’s Nunnaminster.

Alresford Museum (http://www.museum.alresford.org/) 
Relax and take a trip back in time

Bishops Waltham Palace (https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/bishops-waltham-palace/) 
Bishop's Waltham in Hampshire was a grand residence, much remains of the 12th and 14th century buildings, which were begun by Bishop Henry of Blois, brother of King Stephen.

City Museum (https://www.hampshireculture.org.uk/winchester-city-museum)
Located in the heart of the historic city of Winchester, City Museum tells the story of England’s ancient capital, the seat of Alfred the Great.

City of Winchester Trust (https://www.cityofwinchestertrust.co.uk/what-we-do-1)
The City of Winchester Trust is a voluntary organisation that champions Winchester and works towards positive change.

Flowerdown Barrows (https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/flowerdown-barrows/)
The Flowerdown Barrows are three well-preserved Bronze Age burial mounds on the edge of the village of Littleton.

Fort Nelson (https://royalarmouries.org/venue/fort-nelson/) 
Fort Nelson is home to the Royal Armouries’ national collection of artillery and historic cannon

Hockley Mill (https://www.hampshiremills.org/Mills%20Hockley.htm) 
Hockley is a Grade II listed watermill built in 1803 and adjoining barn on the river Itchen north of Twyford.

Horsepower, The Museum Of The King's Royal Hussars (https://horsepowermuseum.co.uk/) 
With our stunning displays of life size models, interactive exhibits, medals, swords, magnificent uniforms and fascinating photographs, follow the story of how the Cavalry of horse and sabre developed into the modern armoured regiment of today.

Hursley House (https://hursleypark.wixsite.com/history)
Hursley House is an 18th century ‘Queen Anne’ style mansion set in the heart of a 450 acre medieval deer park.

Hyde Abbey (https://www.hyde900.org.uk/hydeabbey/home/) 
Hyde Abbey was a medieval Benedictine monastery just outside the walls of Winchester, Hampshire, England. It was dissolved and demolished in 1538

IBM Hursley Museum (http://hursleymuseum.co.uk/?i=1)
The museum at IBM Hursley Park exists to help preserve IBM's historical heritage. 

Jane Austen's House (https://janeaustens.house/)
This inspiring Hampshire cottage was Jane Austen’s home and the birthplace of her six beloved novels.

Railway Museum at Alresford Station (https://watercressline.co.uk/railway-museum/)
The museum tells the story of The Watercress Line and the Somerset and Dorset Railway, both single track, secondary mainline railways.

Southwick Priory (https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/southwick-priory/)   
Southwick Priory in Hampshire was originally founded for Augustinian canons by Henry I in 1133 

St Bartholomew’s Church (https://threesaints.org.uk/st-bartholomew) 
Founded in 1110, St Bartholomew’s is the only active remnant of Hyde Abbey, the final resting place of King Alfred the Great.

St Lawrence (https://threesaints.org.uk/st-lawrence) 
The only surviving parish church of Norman foundation within Winchester’s city walls, St Lawrence is referred to as the Mother Church of Winchester.

St Swithun-upon-Kingsgate (https://threesaints.org.uk/st-swithunuponkingsgate) 
The church sits above one of Winchester’s medieval city gates, the King’s Gate, and is believed to be the only such church in England still in active use.

The Adjutant General's Corps Museum (https://agcmuseum.org.uk/) 
Discover how Britain's soldiers were paid, educated, and disciplined, and the history of women in the British Army.0

The Grange at Northington (https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/northington-grange/)
Set in a landscaped park, The Grange at Northington, Hampshire, is the foremost example in England of Greek Revival architecture. 

The Great Hall (https://www.hants.gov.uk/thingstodo/greathall)
Visit the iconic Round Table of Arthurian legend taking pride of place in Winchester's ancient Great Hall.

The Gurkha Museum (www.thegurkhamuseum.co.uk) 
‚ÄčThe Gurkha Museum at Winchester tells the moving and unique story of Gurkha service to the British Crown and its people for 200 years.

The Rifles Museum (https://www.winchestersmilitarymuseums.co.uk/riflesmuseum.html)
Immerse yourself into their history and exciting campaigns, and find out what it is like to be a Rifleman, including trying on their uniform and battle armour!

The Royal Green Jackets (Rifles) Museum (https://rgjmuseum.co.uk/) 
The Museum records, visually, graphically and entertainingly, the history of The Royal Green Jackets and their predecessors who were three of the finest and most famous regiments in the British Army. 

The Royal Hampshire Regiment Museum (https://www.royalhampshireregiment.org/) 
The Museum of the Royal Hampshire Regiment tells the story of the county infantry regiment for Hampshire and the Isle of Wight.

Twyford Heritage (https://twyfordheritage.org.uk/)
A registered Charity working with other fundraising groups, Twyford Community Center CIC, Twyford Watermeadows, GOESA, the Graze Festival and Percy’s Pals, on projects based in and around Twyford, Hampshire.

Watercress Line (https://watercressline.co.uk/) 
Let off steam at this living history railway! Experience the nostalgic sights, sounds and smells of steam as you travel through 10 miles of beautiful Hampshire countryside, adjacent to the South Downs National Park.

Westgate (https://www.hampshireculture.org.uk/westgate-museum) 
Westgate Museum is housed inside a surviving fortified medieval city gateway. The museum tells the story of this remarkable building, and the history of Tudor and Stuart Winchester. It also offers great rooftop city views.

Wickham History Society Archive (https://wickhamhistory.org.uk/)
Wickham History Society is an active and friendly voluntary civic organisation founded in January 1960

Winchester Cathedral (https://www.winchester-cathedral.org.uk/) 
Discover one of the finest medieval cathedrals in Europe. 

Winchester City Mill (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/visit/hampshire/winchester-city-mill) 
Ancient working watermill and cafe in the heart of Winchester

Winchester College (https://www.winchestercollege.org/community)
Winchester College maintains eighteen Grade I, six Grade II* and over seventy Grade II listed buildings. Many of these are of national importance and are available to visit through our daily guided tours or through access to our collections and archives.

Winchester Roman Walls                          

Winchester Science Centre (https://www.winchestersciencecentre.org/) 
An action-packed family day out! Explosive live science, out-of-this-world Planetarium shows and interactive science exhibits.

Wolvesey Castle (https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/wolvesey-castle-old-bishops-palace/) 
The medieval Bishops of Winchester were rich and powerful men, these extensive remains date largely from the great 12th century palace of Bishop Henry of Blois, brother of King Stephen.

 

If you know of a heritage organisation operating in Winchester that isn't listed here, please contact us: ehickman@winchester.gov.uk

Top
Winchester City Council logo

Cookies Policy

As is common practice with many websites this site uses cookies, which are small files that are downloaded to your computer, used to improve your visit to this website.

It is recommended that you leave on all cookies if you want to enjoy this website.

Review your privacy settings