Winchester City Council election candidates

Nominations have closed for elections to Winchester City Council, to be held on Thursday 4 May 2006. There are contests for all of the 19 seats up for election.

Five current councillors are not standing again, while three Cabinet members face election, including Council Leader Sheila Campbell at Swanmore and Newton.
Others are Brian Collin at Olivers Battery and Badger Farm and Dominic Hiscock in the St Bartholomew ward.

Retiring members include Richard Knasel, the current Cabinet portfolio holder for Economy and Transport, at Owslebury and Curdridge. Others are John Steel (Sparsholt), Paul Hoare (Shedfield), Ian Bidgood (Colden Common and Twyford) and Graham Hutton (Kings Worthy).

There are 19 Conservative candidates, 17 Liberal Democrat, 16 Labour, 5 Independent and one UK Independence Party.

Current makeup of the City Council is Liberal Democrats 26 members, Conservative 22, Independent 5 and Labour 4, with Liberal Democrat the largest single party forming the Cabinet.

If residents wish to obtain a postal vote for the election in May they will need to apply by 5pm on Tuesday 18 April. If you need a proxy application you can apply for one until 5pm on 25 April. Please contact the City Council electoral services unit on 01962 848 125 for an application form.

The full list of nominations for 4 May is available from a link on the right.