Standards Committee

What does it do

The Standards Committee is responsible for issues of probity, ethics and behaviour of councillors. It monitors the compliance of Councillors with the Council's Code of Conduct and develops local protocols and guidance. The Council's Monitoring Officer (Howard Bone) advises the Standards Committee and, in turn, he will consult one of three Independent Persons, who have been appointed to provide impartial advice to discuss particular issues. Three Parish Representatives are co-opted onto the Committee to provide advice when parish issues are considered.

The Independent Persons on the Standards Committee are:.
Mr Bill Bailey
Mr M Cronin
Ms Elizabeth Lee

The co-opted Parish Representatives on the Standards Committee are:
Ms Jessie Bond
Ms Margaret Hill
Ms Susan Wood

Independent Persons and Parish Representatives can be contacted at

The Council's complaints procedure can be found at the bottom of the page under related content.

General Powers and Duties of the Standards Committee

a) Promoting and maintaining high standards of conduct by Councillors and co-opted members.
b) Assisting Councillors and co-opted members to observe the Members Code of Conduct.
c) Advising the Council on the adoption or revision of the Members Code of Conduct.
d) Monitoring the operation of the Members Code of Conduct.
e) Advising, training or arranging to train Councillors and co-opted members on matters relating to the Members Code of Conduct.
f) Granting dispensations to Councillors and co-opted members from requirements relating to interests set out in the Members Code of Conduct.
g) Dealing with any reports from a case tribunal or interim case tribunal, and any report from the Monitoring Officer regarding a complaint about an individual case.
h) The exercise of a-g above in relation to the Parish Councils wholly or mainly in its area and the members of those Parish Councils.
i) The development, introduction, promotion and training in relation to all other ancillary codes of conduct (referred to in the Constitution as local Protocols) which the Council may wish to introduce from time to time.
j) Considering and determining any complaint made about a Member with regard to an alleged breach of the provisions of any local protocol adopted by the Council.

Public Participation:

A public question and comment session is available at 6.15pm for a 15 minute period. Please note that public participation at Standards Committee applies to the principles of the Council’s codes and practices for probity and ethics. It does not relate to complaints about individuals for which separate procedures apply and where contact should be made with the Monitoring Officer or Chief Executive. (please contact the Committee Administrator in advance for further details). If there are no members of the public present at 6.15pm who wish to ask questions or make statements, then the meeting will commence.

Search all meetings for this committee

Last Meeting

26 June 2017 6:30 PM

Next Meeting

22 January 2018 6:30 PM

Current Committee Members

Councillor Ian Tait
Position: Chair

Councillor Eleanor Bell
Position: Member

Councillor Eileen Berry
Position: Member

Councillor Linda Gemmell
Position: Member

Councillor Richard Izard
Position: Member

Councillor Brian Laming
Position: Member

Councillor Fiona Mather
Position: Member


David Blakemore
Position: Democratic Services Manager
Telephone: 01962 848217