The Boundary Commission for England - initial proposals for new Parliamentary constituency boundaries

On 13 September 2016, the Boundary Commission for England published its Initial Proposals for new Parliamentary constituency boundaries for the South East Region. A 12 week consultation period will follow and accordingly, relevant documents including maps have been left for public inspection in the City Council’s Customer Service Centre.

In summary, the changes proposed will impact on Winchester as follows:

  • The Meon Valley constituency (which includes part of Winchester District) is to be abolished.
  • The Colden Common and Twyford, and Compton and Otterbourne wards will be moved to the Test Valley Constituency.
  • The Whiteley ward will be moved to Fareham Constituency.
  • The Eastleigh wards (Hiltingbury and Chandler’s Ford) there were previously in the Winchester Constituency will be moved to Test Valley Constituency.
  • All remaining wards in the Winchester City Council area will be in the ‘new’ Winchester Constituency.

Note: the review is based on the wards as they existed at 7 May 2015 – following the 2015 Boundary Review for Winchester District, these wards no longer exist, but the new constituencies will be drawn based on the old ward boundaries, as set out above.

Proposals are set out on the Boundary Commission for England’s website, together with details on how you can make comments